Homestead

My wonderful, two-week fall break is wrapping up and I was less than productive in my crafting.  In fact, I haven’t picked up my scarf in a week or so. One of the reasons (at least this is my excuse) is that we’re buying a house.  We’re currently in our option period and have an inspection scheduled for Monday. If all goes well, we should be in our first home by early November. Then you’ll never get rid of me and my household crafts! (Sewing curtains are the first matter of business)

I’ve been reading a lot over break.  I started and finished Kate Jacob’s Comfort Food during my trip to Maine. I loved The Friday Night Knitting Club, this one was OK, though  didn’t think it was as engaging at the knitting book.  It follows a fifty year old woman, who is the host of a cooking show, and whose personal and professional lives are changing.

Comfort_Food-712076.JPGI joined a second book club, and they’re reading In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote.  I’m about 50 pages from finishing.  I thought I had read it before, but I think I might be confusing seeing the movie Capote with reading this book.  Anyway, it’s apparent why this is considered the most well-written true crime novel ever. The narrative is poetic. I’m totally intrigued.

I’m also about half-way through Nineteen Minutes, by Jodi Picoult. It’s about a school shooting in New Hampshire.  It has some characters that appear in other books by her, which I’ve never read.  I think as a teacher I’m morbidly drawn to these books because I see the bulling and social situations that begin in elementary school. I know I do everything I can to create collaborative and accepting classroom communities and I can only hope that it’s enough.

Leave a Reply

