Back to Basics

For the past week or so I’ve been swept up in this insane cross stitch project. I’d come home everyday and cross stitch for 2-3 hours every night in anticipation of making some major progress.  I guess I underestimated how quickly counted cross stitch goes, because it feels like I’ve barely made any progress.  Here is the next installment of pictures.

When I look at them all together I can see the progress, but it doesn’t seem like much considering how much time I spend working on it.  

With my frustration at how slow the cross stitch was going, I turned back to my old friend crochet- my baby step into the world of yarn and needle crafts. I finally finished the blue baby blanket.  It was the first blanket I started over a year ago.  In between starting it and finishing it yesterday I have completed many other crochet projects, but the blue baby blanket was always on my mind. Here’s what it looked like when I first began this blog:

And here it is today.

And here’s the hat to match. I love these little newborn hats!

Once I wash them, they’ll both be on their way to Stitches From the Heart.

My next project is a baby blanket for a friend at work.  She’s due in about two weeks, and I’m hoping to have the blanket done before the baby arrives.  She’s knows it’s a girl, so I’m going pink and white.  I’m also trying out a new pattern and moving away from the shell pattern. Hopefully I’ll get started on it this weekend and do a little each day.  Tomorrow I’m baking macaroons for my husband’s employees, so you might be treated to a picture of macaroons and baby blankets!

This week’s school bento was a veggie BLT (veggie bacon, lettuce, tomato, mayo, toasted wheat bread), grapes, plum, pita chips, and vegan chocolate chip cookies from Trader Joes.

So, until tomorrow, perhaps.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    beccagregory said,

    The cross stitch looks brilliant, you’ve made lots of progress


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

