I heart summer

I love how warm the mornings are now and how the sunny feels so toasty. I love all the time I have to cook and crochet and read and watch movies and snuggle and blog!  I started a new running program to try and train for a half marathon.  I’m two days in and feeling pretty good.  The best effect of hardcore exercise is how well I sleep.  Last night I think I slept mostly through the night and this morning I felt great.  I’ve been working out in the mornings to get it finished before I start my real day. So, right now I’m loving summer. 

You’ll see the finished baby blanket tomorrow or Thursday.  I made it to size and decided to add a few more rows. I think I’ll make a matching hat to be donated along with it.

Tonight is the farmer’s market and roasted potatoes are on the agenda for dinner. Mmm!!

Sunday night I made chilaquiles. Although, they’re maybe more like migas.  All I know is that it’s my todo-menos-el fregadero de cocina (loosely translated to everything but the kitchen sink) meal.  The first time I made it I used tortilla chips.  This time I sliced the left over tortillas from huevos rancheros and sauted in oil. Then I added the rest of the soyrizo, then 4 eggs, salsa, and refried beans.  Everything gets mixed together and fried up. Chris put cheese on top, I put a little in mine, though it’s yummy without. It doesn’t look purty, but it sure is tasty.

Yesterday for lunch I packed a big bento because I was at work all day and then stayed late because of an evening appointment in the area.  So there’s a corn tortilla with refried beans and cheese (leftovers),garden vegetable crackers, honey nut Mini-Wheats, raspberries, 100 calorie Chips Ahoy Candy Bites, trail mix, and sweat seaweed snack. A little bit of snack goes along way.  I was able to snack throughout the day and early evening on yummy, small portions, rather than succumb to the temptation of walking down to the coffee shop and getting coffee and pastries!

Leave a comment