Scarves’n’shawl

Summer’s here, so I’ve been working on those baby blankets that I mentioned earlier.  My goal is to finish my first two blankets this summer to donate to Stitches from the Heart.  They’re not progressing too quickly, as my passion has been with books lately.  I did finish two scarves for students, another is in progress.  But my most recent crochet triumph is the shawl I just finished.  It’s large and warm and snuggley.  It’s a good wrap for over tank tops, and I’m sure I’ll use it at school, where my new classroom is always freezing. I also made a halter top from an old t-shirt.  It’s not crochet, but it shows just how bitten by crafting I’ve gotten.

This is one of the student scarves, it’s separate flowers all joined together.  I was considering keeping it for myself, but she made me cute hoop earrings.

This is a close up of another student scarf.  It’s a variegated granny square scarf.  I love the colors.

 

Two views of the shawl- pattern from the Happy Hooker book.

It saved up and down, so I don’t know why it’s always posting these pictures sideways.  Anyway, you get the point. I cut off the arms and the back and cut down the seams, then took some of the extra material off and sewed it back up again.  It fits well, though I handstitched it and it’s coming undone, so I won’t be wearing it out anytime soon. When I go to WI this summer, I’ll use mom-in-law’s sewing machine to fix it.

Leave a Reply

