More Than Words

I have a few updates for my crochet projects, which I’ll write more about later.  Instead, I wanted to take this time to write about all the books I’m working on right now.

There’s:

My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk- This is my May book club book.  I found a book club on Meet Up that had a history of interesting books.  If you know me personally, you’ll know I’ve had “issues” with a previous book group.  This time things seem to be great. Last month we read “Someone Knows My Name” by Lawrence Hill.  This month’s selection is by Nobel Prize winning author Orhan Pamuk.  It’s a historically dense account of miniaturists in 16th century Istanbul trying to uncover the murder of one of their own.  It’s rife with Islamic law and tradition, artistic innuendo, and confusing historical references.  That being said, now that I’m 20 pages away from finishing it, I actually liked it a lot.  I skipped some of the denser narrative section, especially when I couldn’t wrap my head around the customs and history.  It took me about 100 pages to get into it.  It’s worth a read, though it’s not a light summer beach story.

Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan- I’ve been trying to read this for about a year now.  I’ve made some progress in the past few months, but with dense book club books, and mounds of student work to correct, it’s fall by the wayside.  I love non-fiction, and especially diet/food socio-cultural non fiction.  I’ve read Don’t Eat this Book, Fast Food Nation, etc (see Fat Land below) and this fits right in, though in a more scientific way.  I like the Michael Pollan isn’t real preachy- he just wants to follow meat and corn from birth/growth to the dinner table.  It’s alarming how much we rely on corn off the cob in our processed food.  I’m about half-way done, and I can tell you I’ve already made plans to have a garden in back of our future house.

If the Buddha Married by Charlotte Kasl- My husband and I started seeing a couples therapist months ago to help us work out some things.  It’s been a really positive experience.  In the beginning of all the problems, I picked up this book as a guide for relationship help.  At first it made no sense, and I though it was just new-age hokiness.  Now that we’ve starting untangling some of the mess we’ve made in our relationship, the ideas in this book make sense. It’s made me more self-reflective so I can make changes to help better my marriage. She has the same types of books for dating, being stuck in places in life, and one about food.

Fat Land by Greg Critser- Scary! Along the same lines as Fast Food Nation and Omnivore’s Dilemma (see above). I try to limit high fructose corn syrup, and I watch what I eat, but these types of books always put into perspective how sneaky big corporations and the government are, especially when dealing with health and food.

What Einstein Told His Cook 2 by Robert Wolke- Neat food science explanations.  He has a whole Einstein series that explains the science behind everyday stuff.  It’s really easy reading, and this one has recipes written by the author’s wife.

Leave a Reply

